EXTENDED-Seeking 2023 Emerson Greenaway Award Nominations

Calling All Superheroes!

Submit Your Nomination for the 2023 Emerson Greenaway Award

NEW Deadline: Aug. 18th

The Emerson Greenaway Award is the New England Library Association’s award for distinguished service in librarianship. In 1988, NELA President Christine Kardokas established the “Great Librarian Award” to recognize the contributions of exceptional librarians. The first recipient to be honored for his outstanding achievements was Emerson Greenaway, an innovator in library organization and practice in the mid-twentieth century. Two years later, this regional tribute was renamed the Emerson Greenaway Award to honor the memory of its first recipient. It is presented annually, whenever there is a worthy candidate, at NELA’s Annual Conference. A list of past recipients can be found HERE.

Selection Criteria

  1. Since NELA represents the New England region, nominees for the award must have had an impact on the library field in the New England region.
  2. The nominee must be or have been, a member of the New England Library Association.
  3. The nominee must have made a major contribution to the field of librarianship in New England, such as:
    • Development of outstanding services in a field of expertise, such as administration, reference services, technical services, etc.
    • Involvement with developing library cooperation in New England.
    • Outstanding leadership in the field.

Return to Top

Selection & Nominations Process

The Nominating Committee is responsible for soliciting nominations and for recommending a candidate for the award each year. NELA’s Executive Board is responsible for approving the selection. Do you know a worthy nominee? The Nominating Committee will contact you regarding your nomination.

Please have the following information ready before you begin to fill out the nomination form.

  1. Written Statement - One or two pages in length, relating to the nominee's accomplishments in relation to the criteria for the award. Please state specifically which field their expertise is in, and give examples of their contributions, including examples of programs, projects, and writings. Please describe how their involvement with library cooperation has gone beyond the boundaries of their own state and has impacted at least two or three New England states. Cite examples of their leadership in the field.
  2. Resume/Curriculum Vitae or Equivalent - This should cite a list of positions held and accomplishments achieved by the nominee.
  3. Three Letters of Support - Two of these should be from persons outside of the nominee's home state. These letters should support the nomination.
Nomination Form

Return to Top

Share this post:

Comments on "EXTENDED-Seeking 2023 Emerson Greenaway Award Nominations"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment